top of page

For Authors Who'd Like Me to Review Their Work

Hi hello! I'm Kelsee and I'm glad you're here!


First, I want to thank you for checking out Rainbow Reads and considering me to read and review your work!


Second, I should tell you a bit about me and therefore Rainbow Reads. I am a queer woman and an enneagram 2 (the helper/the friend, I love helping out, sometimes to my own detriment). I read from a variety of genres but I especially love sci-fi and fantasy books. I also love reading a variety of age ranges from middle grade all the way up to adult.


Rainbow Reads is run by me and only me. I am one person, who really loves to read, but also only has so much time in my day (if you've got any time travel tips, I'd love to hear them). Rainbow Reads also started out as just a bookstagram page. Because my day job is graphic design, this was a hobby that really combined my two of my favorite things: reading and photography. My reviews go hand in hand with thoughtfully styled photos to show off the book I'm reading, both here and on Instagram. That's what I love to do and that is what you will get if I decide to read and review your book. All of it free of charge. Reading is a hobby, this blog is a hobby, and I don't intend to ever charge for that. I consider a free book payment enough!


As previously stated, I am one person and I only have so much time. So before I'll consider reading your book, your book must be diverse in some way. Here's an incomplete list of diversity:

  • LGBTQIA+ Protagonist/Main Characters

  • Non-white Protagonist/Main Characters

  • Neurodivergent Protagonist/Main Characters

  • The book is set somewhere that is not the United States or the United Kingdom

    • For fantasy books, this means it is set in a world that is not loosely based on English Medieval society

My first preference goes to books with LGBTQIA+ characters or themes, because I am queer and those are the books I love to read. But my goal with Rainbow Reads is to promote books that represent people outside of the white, cis-het, neurotypical spectrum. That's what my readers and followers have come to expect and that's what I intend to keep giving them. If none of these describe your book, I am not the reviewer for you.


If it still sounds like your book fits with this stringent criterion, CONGRATS! I'd love to hear about your book! Drop me a line with the handy box at the bottom of this page. So as to make things easier for you and I both, please make sure you include:

  • "REVIEW REQUEST" as the subject

  • Tell me upfront how your book is diverse, this doesn't have to be in great detail, just a quick tag to let me know (lgbtqia+ characters, bipoc mc, mc struggles with depression, etc.)

  • What your book is about

  • Do you have a timeline? Is the book about to launch? Let me know! I strive to read and review every book I agree to, but I get busy or have a lot of books to read. So if I don't think I can reasonably get to your book by a specified time I will let you know upfront

  • Any other info you think I should know about the book or you!

Lastly, my preference is always going to be physical books, they're more fun to read and they photograph really well! Remember how I said I always take photos to go with my reviews? Scan through some of my previous reviews and you can get an idea of my photography style (also, you should definitely check out my Instagram feed since that's also where I will be showing off your book!) If that's something you're able to do, I will be beyond thrilled, but I also get that's not always possible and so I definitely accept ebooks as well.


If you're still around: Great! Send me a message and let's talk about your book! Please format your request as listed above. If it is not formatted this way, particularly if you don't let me know upfront what makes your book diverse, I probably won't get to it. So to save us both time and energy, please follow this format.


And again, thank you so much for considering me to read your book!


– Kelsee

bottom of page