top of page

August 2020 Rainbow Crate Unboxing *SPOILERS*



The theme for August's box was: IN DEEP WATER


I am in love with the theme of this one. All the fandoms featured have a watery theme in some form or fashion. The book of the month was a haunting atmospheric novel set in a slowly sinking island town and with an enemies to lovers sapphic romance and bi MC. If you want to see my full review of this beautiful novel you can check it out HERE. There was also a necklace inspired by The Starless Sea which is one of my all-time favorites so I was incredibly pleased with this one!


FULL UNBOXING

  • The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinska

  • Signed bookplate

  • Authors note

  • Exclusive alternate book cover for The Dark Tide

  • Secret book item: exclusive music box featuring the quote "Our love keeps us from drowning"

  • Monthly collectible magnet: Monte & Percy from A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

  • The Starless Sea aromatherapy necklace

  • The Last True Poets of the Sea desk clock

  • Peter Darling tote bag featuring the quote "He breathed out and settled in the feeling of being himself, of being something whole."

  • Monthly E-book: The King's Trial by D.L. Sims

  • The Rainbow Gaze newsletter

  • Art and spoiler card illustrated by Ace Artemis


Rainbow Crate has announced that August was the last month for the secret item which you open on a specific page. Which I was really sad to hear. I thought that was just a fun and interactive part of every box. But they said that there will still be a monthly book related item in every box, you just won't have to wait to open it. They're hoping that without this feature they'll have more time to spend on other designs for the box, since packaging those items took so much time. Which is totally understandable, so I look forward to seeing what they come up with in the future!


Go check them out! September has already shipped and I'm currently in the process of posting my unboxing for that. Going forward I'm going to try and post my unboxing posts here closer to when I receive the box, rather than a month later to go along with their Instagram photo challenge. So if you follow me on both, this is your warning that I will be posting spoilers sooner! Though I don't feel like it's as big of a need now that they're doing away with opening the secret item on a specific page of the book. October's theme is going to be: DIVERSIFY YOUR READS


Have you gotten any of Rainbow Crate's boxes? Let me know what you think! After all, I love talking about queer books ;)

bottom of page