top of page

Timekeeper (Timekeeper #1) by Tara Sim



Synopsis

 

"An alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, where a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.


A prodigy mechanic who can repair not only clockwork but time itself, determined to rescue his father from a Stopped town.


A series of mysterious bombings that could jeopardize all of England.


A boy who would give anything to relive his past, and one who would give anything to live at all.


A romance that will shake the very foundations of time."


Book Links: Goodreads, Bookshop



My Thoughts

 

I really enjoyed this story. It took a moment to figure out what was going on, but once I realized that in this fantastic world clock towers literally control time in the area around them. It has some of the best world-building and its own mythology system. You get bits of the mythologies that rule this steampunk world between the chapters. And I am such a sucker for a good steampunk story.


I thought the romance in this one was so fantastic too. Danny and Colton fall so hard for each other and is basically doomed from the beginning which just made it all the more intense. They were adorable and I'm really excited to read more of this series to figure out what happens from here.

 

“You're everything. You're... You're chaos and order and everything between. Like sunshine kept back by clouds. Like the entire world's imploded inside you, but all I see are the stars are sewn into your skin. You're filled with soft, dark music. I hear it all the time. Your music.”

Tara Sim, Timekeeper

 

The answer to the mystery of the book came as a complete surprise to me. I definitely didn't figure it out until near the end along with Danny. There was a line about Danny not being the detective that he thought he was that made me laugh and relate.


Definitely give this one a read if you want some amazing steampunk fantasy with a beautiful forbidden love story.

 

Genre: lgbtqia+, steampunk, fantasy, ya


Representation: gay MC, BIPOC


Content Warnings: death of a loved one, bombings, PTSD

bottom of page