top of page

The Calling (The Collins Trilogy #1) by Kate Hershberger



Synopsis

 

"Even in the supernatural world, Darcy and Ceridwen Collins are considered quite extraordinary. They’re the first females born into the Collins clan in nearly 1,000 years. They’re not only twins (an extreme rarity in the werewolf world) but twins that get along. Not to mention the whole Alpha/Omega dynamic.


Darcy, as the firstborn and alpha, is the heir of the Collins pack. Destined to take over as pack leader when their father steps down. However, Darcy wants nothing to do with the infamous Collins pack and has been trying to convince her father to name her sister as the proper heir for years. Alistair won’t hear of such a thing as an omega becoming pack leader would surely end in anarchy.


Things start looking up when a beautiful druid doctor comes into the twins’ lives, befriending Ceridwen and enthralling Darcy instantly. Making Alistair and the rest of the pack think that Darcy has finally decided to accept her destiny. Of course, not everyone wants Darcy to take over as pack leader and a sinister plan begins to develop in an effort to bring down the Collins reign once and for all."


Book Links: Goodreads, Amazon



My Thoughts

 

This book was a really fun read. I really enjoyed getting to know these characters and learning about the world they lived in. The world that's not so different from our own but werewolves, vampires and Fae live alongside blissfully unaware humans.


Darcy and Tamsin's relationship was a joy to watch bloom on the page. Usually, insta-love stories are rather boring for me, but the writing was so well done on this one. Despite the characters' instant attraction, they both take the time and learn about the other and it's so much fun to watch unfold. I absolutely loved Darcy's character the most who appeared rather dark and brooding, but really was such a kind and caring person. I loved that the twins were individuals and very distinctly different people, polar opposites who actually wonderfully complement each other. They're fantastic. I only wish we'd seen a little more of Ceri's character. She's there through the whole book, but it's very much felt like the Darcy and Tamsin show, which I did not mind, but from the book description I assumed it would be more about the sister's relationship.


This book had a couple of twists, some I saw coming, some I didn't. I really want to know more about the Fae and other supernatural entities in this world. This book kept my interest the whole way through and I'm so excited to dig into the sequel when I get my hands on it!


I received this book as a free digital copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

 

Genre: fantasy, romance, lgbtqia+


Representation: lesbian


Content Warnings: language, homophobia, suicide (mentioned), sexual content, self-harm, violence


bottom of page