top of page

Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey



"Ivy Gamble has never wanted to be magic. She is perfectly happy with her life. She has an almost-sustainable career as a private investigator, and an empty apartment, and a slight drinking problem. It's a great life and she doesn't wish she was like her estranged sister, the magically gifted professor Tabitha.


But when Ivy is hired to investigate the gruesome murder of a faculty member at Tabitha’s private academy, the stalwart detective starts to lose herself in the case, the life she could have had, and the answer to the mystery that seems just out of her reach."


 

“People didn't stick because I was made of fucking Teflon. I'd always told myself that it was better that way, that being alone was easier. That I wasn't a coward for easing my way out of friendships before they could really start.”

Sarah Gailey, Magic for Liars

 

I loved this book! The characters and the writing style was fantastic. I really enjoy the blending of a Private Investigator story with a magical high school. And the poking fun at it not at all being like Harry Potter was subtle but I thought a really fun addition. It wasn’t a funny story, but there were so many moments that helped lift the mood from the rather gruesome murder mystery plot. I really enjoyed Ivy’s dark humor about everything. And her perspective on the whole magical world was very interesting to read as well. It was gorier than I expected, but it was never seemed to go too far at least. So I highly recommend it and now I really need to read more by this author!

 

Genre: fantasy, mystery, contemporary


Representation: lesbian/queer side characters


Content Warnings: violence, death, murder, alcohol use, gore

bottom of page