top of page

I Hate Everyone But You (I Hate Everyone But You, #1) by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin




"Dear Best Friend,

I can already tell that I will hate everyone but you.

Sincerely,

Ava Helmer

(that brunette who won’t leave you alone)


We're still in the same room, you weirdo.

Stop crying.

G

-

So begins a series of texts and emails sent between two best friends, Ava and Gen, as they head off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two of them document every wild and awkward moment to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance?"


 

“You are so brave and so strong that sometimes I forget someone like me can hurt you. But you need to remember that you can hurt me too.”

Allison Raskin, I Hate Everyone But You

 

I Hate Everyone But You by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin was such a fun, quick read! This wasn’t like the fantastic adventure books I usually end up reading but it was still just as fun. As a fan of Gaby and Allison’s Just Between Us podcast, I couldn’t wait to read this book. Their characters are amazing, funny, and honest. It really felt like Gen and Ava were my friends by the end of the book. As well as being a fun read, I really appreciate all of Gaby and Allison’s work to de-stigmatize mental health issues. You should definitely check it out!

 

Genre: ya, contemporary, lgbtqia+


Representation: queer, sapphic


Content Warnings: sex, mental illness

 

bottom of page