top of page

Cute Mutants Vol. 4: The Sisterhood of Evil Mutants by SJ Whitby


 

Synopsis

 

"'Then understand this. I want to shoulder that burden for others. I want Quietus to break against me, to shatter. When I killed Abigail Tanner, I knew it would make me a target. I want that. It was on purpose. I'm not some reckless teenager who knows nothing. I'm a reckless teenager who knows exactly what I'm doing.'

We've finally found a safe place for mutants, but it may not stay that way for long. There's no shortage of battles to fight, and I'm itching to take the war to our enemies, even if not everyone agrees. Eli Crane has a lot of money, guns, and hate-and he's only the first name on my list.


Because Crane's not our only problem: a terrifying mystery lies in our past waiting to be unveiled, and we've got a dark vision of the future swinging at us like a fist. A lot of people are gunning for mutants, and we have to keep ahead of all of them. We're not schoolkids anymore. We'll have to be revolutionaries, politicians, and criminals to make it through. Surviving the experience isn't guaranteed."


Book Links: Goodreads, Bookshop


 

My Thoughts

 

Just when I didn't think this series could get better, this one comes along. Vol. 4 ushered in some fantastic new characters (hello Feral, I want to you be your best friend) and showed our wonderful Cute Mutants dealing with the aftermath of Vol. 3. On top of that, we also see them trying to figure out what the right thing to do is when all the options seem to be bad ones.


There were twists! Ones I did not see coming and were so fantastic. As this world gets darker with every volume I love seeing how these characters deal with difficult questions of "what even is the right thing to do?" As usual, the overwhelming amount of queerness in this book just makes my heart so happy.


This book had me in tears, happy and sad. Just all the emotions basically. Definitely a fantastic continuation of this world and characters I've fallen in love with and I'm ridiculously excited to see what comes next.


A free eARC was provided to me by the author but all opinions are my own. Cute Mutants Vol. 4: The Sisterhood of Evil Mutants is available for preorder now and comes out April 6th, 2021!

 

Genre: lgbtqia+, sci-fi, fantasy


Representation: gender fluid MC, lesbian, bi, ace, trans, non-binary, Kiwi-Asian


Content Warnings: graphic violence, blood, gore, guns, murder, death, hate groups (against mutants & LGBTQ+ people), dismembering, possession, brainwashing, cults, non-consensual medical experimentation, hostage situation, misgendering, mentions of racism, self harm, and alcohol (recreational)

bottom of page