top of page

Chainbreaker (Timekeeper #2) by Tara Sim


 

Synopsis

 

"Clock mechanic Danny Hart knows he's being watched. But by whom, or what, remains a mystery. To make matters worse, clock towers have begun falling in India, though time hasn't Stopped yet. He'd hoped after reuniting with his father and exploring his relationship with Colton, he'd have some time to settle into his new life. Instead, he's asked to investigate the attacks.


After inspecting some of the fallen Indian towers, he realizes the British occupation may be sparking more than just attacks. And as Danny and Colton unravel more secrets about their past, they find themselves on a dark and dangerous path--one from which they may never return."


Book Links: Goodreads, Bookshop


 

My Thoughts

 

This book was an awesome continuation of the Timekeeper series. The world-building expanded in a really interesting way and the book takes no time at all to get going.


I don't think I loved this book as much as the first though. But then second books are so incredibly hard to live up to the first in my eyes. I did quite enjoy seeing more of this fantastic and steampunk world. Again, this is one I listened to as an audiobook and that probably hurt my experience of this story. It was far more complicated and much more political than the first book. Which isn't a bad thing in a book, but between the storyline and all the characters I had to keep track of, this was a hard one to listen to vs reading. I'll probably go back and actually read these books in the future because I really loved the characters in them.


This one ended on a major cliff-hanger which I was not expecting and which meant I had to immediately download the last book in this trilogy. But yes, I definitely still loved this book and you should check it out if you're a fan of steampunk adventures!

 

Genre: lgbtqia+, ya, fantasy, steampunk


Representation: gay MC, Indian


Content Warnings: violence, bombings, racism

bottom of page