top of page

Across the Green Grass Fields (Wayward Children #6) by Seanan McGuire


 

Synopsis

 

"Regan loves, and is loved, though her school-friend situation has become complicated, of late.


When she suddenly finds herself thrust through a doorway that asks her to "Be Sure" before swallowing her whole, Regan must learn to live in a world filled with centaurs, kelpies, and other magical equines―a world that expects its human visitors to step up and be heroes.


But after embracing her time with the herd, Regan discovers that not all forms of heroism are equal, and not all quests are as they seem…"


Book Links: Goodreads, Bookshop


 

My Thoughts

 

I thought this was an awesome continuation of the series, though it felt quite a bit younger than the previous books. There were still pretty dark aspects, but it didn't seem quite as much so.


I loved Regan in this, and unfortunately, she learns really fast that sometimes your friends aren't always the best for you. She loves horses and unicorns and then magically lands in the Hooflands. Regan discovers near the beginning of the book that she is intersex, a fact that her parents have kept from her until she was ten. I think this is the first book I've read with an intersex main character so I was really happy to see that rep on-page.


I definitely recommend this one, though it does feel more like a middle-grade book rather than a young adult book which I would keep in mind before diving in!

 

Genre: lgbtqia+, ya, fantasy


Representation: intersex MC


Content Warnings: bullying, kidnapping, death

bottom of page